|Message From the Dean|
|Queen's Academic Plan|
|Goodes Hall Home of Queen's School of Business|
Goodes Hall, the home of Queen’s School of Business, combines an exquisitely restored 45,000 square foot 120-year-old Victorian schoolhouse with 143,000 square feet of bold new design and structure. The building is named in honour of the family of Mel Goodes, a Commerce ‘57 alumnus and former Chairman & CEO of Warner-Lambert worldwide.
September 2012 marked the completion of a significant expansion of Goodes Hall, increasing the size of the facility by 75,000 feet to a total of 188,000 square feet. The expansion includes several new state-of-the-art classrooms, student breakout rooms, 51 additional faculty offices and many enhanced features for our students. The Goodes Hall expansion enables Queen’s School of Business to enhance and expand existing programs, accommodate new graduate programs, foster research excellence, and recruit the additional faculty to support this growth.
Peter Berton, partner-in-charge of the Toronto office of architectural firm The Ventin Group, was the lead architect on Goodes Hall.
A unique blend of old and new
Goodes Hall combines the history of Victoria School, a preserved 1892 schoolhouse, with the contemporary design, architecture and cutting-edge learning tools of a modern business school.
Numerous historical elements of Victoria School have been preserved and incorporated into Goodes Hall. For example, plaques and room signage recognizing the building's donors have been custom-carved from the original slate blackboards that were first installed in Victoria School in the 1890's. During construction of Goodes Hall, the original 1892 schoolhouse blackboards were uncovered, revealing a handwritten honour roll dating back to 1934. This honour roll has been preserved and was showcased at the opening of Goodes Hall.
Many other original architectural details have been preserved and refinished, such as the grand maple staircase, maple wainscoting and tin ceilings. Original design elements have been maintained as well. For example, the original circa-1892 classrooms continue to be used as classrooms in Goodes Hall, complete with airy 14-foot ceilings, and the school's original exterior doors have been preserved as a ceremonial entrance to the building.
The design of Goodes Hall is consistent with Queen's University's philosophy of "construction with respect for history," and the belief that new buildings should be tastefully integrated with the historic surroundings of Kingston, Ontario.
Preparing for the future
While respectful of its past, Goodes Hall was also designed and constructed to meet the full range of needs of a modern, leading-edge business school. Digital conduits have been run throughout the building to allow students to plug laptop computers directly into the Queen's University computer network from any of the 1300 ports on their desks or in the numerous team breakout rooms, lounges and more. Goodes Hall is also home to the School's impressive videoconferencing studios, which allow professors to see and converse with their Executive MBA students in boardroom learning centres in cities across Canada and the U.S. - and vice versa.
The Goodes Hall vision - creating a community
Goodes Hall was conceived, designed and constructed not just as a building, but also as a community. The guiding principle from the outset was to create a space that would enable maximum interaction between faculty, staff and students in all of Queen's School of Business' programs. Design features include a dramatic central "hive" of the building that uses an atrium to bridge the streetscape exterior of the old schoolhouse to the new section of the building. This expansive glass atrium area houses a lounge and the main Goodes Hall reception area, and is used as a central space to post news and hold events.
Classrooms and meeting rooms in Goodes Hall were designed with space to walk, talk and sit between them. Small lounges dot the building. In addition, office space is provided for professors emeritus and visiting scholars in order to build a sense of community.
The classrooms and lecture halls themselves were designed for optimal sightlines and communication. Rather than traditional semi-circular seating structures, the seating in Goodes Hall classrooms resemble a horseshoe, with the professor in the middle of his or her students, rather than in front of them. In addition, the horseshoe design allows students to see each other's faces during class.
The Victoria School
Built in 1892 on the occasion of Canada's 25th birthday and named after Queen Victoria, Victoria School is one of the oldest and most ornate in Canada. It served the Kingston community as an elementary school until it was closed in 1985. Queen's purchased the property in the early 1990's, using it for the Registrar's office until it was designated as the site of Goodes Hall in 1999.